Day 78 Heading South

Hello Picton and the South Island

Hello Picton and the South Island

2.45pm Bluebridge ferry on The Cook Strait

I’m well on the way to the South Island and Volume 2. With this physical separation of the two Islands it does now feel like a distinctly new adventure.

No sign of a beetroot sandwich on board (Helen, my sister was sick after eating one on the ferry nearly 40 years ago), in fact it is pretty calm and if anything the south island looks sunnier.

I missed James this morning as I didn’t wake up before he’d left pre 7am. He rang me later to check I was ok and I was able to thank him on the phone as well as on the note I’d left.

Skyped the girls at home and had a good chat. The beard is not popular with them so I’m going to try a few trimmed variations for them to check and will probably end up taking it all off.

Got on the train to Welly again and managed to find the sculpted man and Ghandi which I’d missed yesterday.I went back to Te Papa museum and saw some of the displays I’d missed before walking back and checking in at Bluebridge. Heaps of Wellingtonians running, swimming, circuit training in their lunch break made me feel a bit lazy!

Very impressed with your veggie plot james and Karla

Very impressed with your veggie plot james and Karla

Was Ghandi a Te Araroa walker too?

Was Ghandi a Te Araroa walker too?

Leaning into the wind sculpture quite evocative

Leaning into the wind sculpture quite evocative

My Evocative look?!

My Evocative look?!

Goodbye Wellington and the North Island

Goodbye Wellington and the North Island


Saw a couple of dolphins swimming alongside the boat less than a kilometre from shore at Island Bay.

9pm Picton

Memory lane here in Picton. I’m staying at the campsite where Amie hurt her knee 15 years ago which back then meant we couldn’t walk the Abel Tasman track. the same owners are there and I do believe it is the same trampoline!

Gorgeous Malborough Sounds

Gorgeous Malborough Sounds

The Walt Disney Corporation still haven't sued Picton for this Donald Duck effort

The Walt Disney Corporation still haven’t sued Picton for this Donald Duck effort

Amie....Do you remember this trampoline when you were 3?

Amie….Do you remember this trampoline when you were 3?

Meet Ray, my new friend in Picton Marina

Meet Ray, my new friend in Picton Marina


Picton is a nice place, seems lively with lots of people (tourists) arriving and departing and most people look even more lost than me!

Made a decision to try my hand (or more accurately my knee) at cycling on a mountain bike on the Queen Charlotte track either for a day or maybe two. Will try and book it tomorrow first thing as it departs for Ship cove at 9.30am. After a not very healthy “fush and chups” supper I had a good chat with Lionel and he has even lined up his physio mate to look at me in return for helping him do some work around his garden, this “koha” is brill. Have come into backpackers to use internet PCs but not one of them have SD card reader that works. I’m actually in their reception office on my own using their office PC which doesn’t work either (the lady owner just said come on in and just close the door again on your way out!). I’ve just assisted a French guy who asked me for a pen and paper. No problem monsieur here you are. glad to be of service.

Will have to go soon as getting asked more complicated questions by very attractive young foreign girls about how long they can have a hot shower for!

Leave a comment